Weekly Photo Challenge: Change

Posted: April 17, 2013 in Weekly Photo Challenge
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Rheinfall

What a coincidence.

I was just going through my catalogue of pictures seeing that picture here. Why is this picture not yet published by me? I need to share it with the world to enjoy it as much as I do. Stop keeping it to yourself 🙂

The photograph was taken in 2011 while visiting some relatives in Switzerland. Normally I am not posting old pictures for the Weekly Photo Challenge. But this one just fit perfectly.

You are looking at the Rheinfall in Switzerland. This waterfall is the biggest waterfall in Europe. Not the tallest or longest but the one with the most water flowing through. We happened to be in Sankt Gallen overnight and where driving back to Basel. So we planned to visit the Waterfall as we never have been there before. Now we arrived a little bit late. Or just in time as the sun started to set on the horizon. Now not being there before was pressing me in finding a good spot in time. After taking several “standard” postcard photographs did I find this spot. And basically just in the last moment. I knew this will be perfect. I took around 10 photographs with my Canon 7D with exposure bracketing. At home I used 5 of those to create this HDR. The exposure compensation was done in Photoshop CS6 and post processed in Lightroom 4.

Now how comes this picture is representing change for me?Not too long ago. Perhaps one max two weeks ago I heard that some Swiss investor are planning in utilizing the waterfall for generating Green energy. I 100% agree on going that way but am very worried on what will happen to the waterfall. Will we be able to enjoy this beautiful place after the Change happened or will we only be able to enjoy the water fall on Pictures and Paintings?

Lets see what the future brings.

Cheers.

OlléS-Foto from down town Struer in Denmark

Comments
  1. Too often where man interferes, nature suffers.

  2. klsprout says:

    Beautiful photo!

  3. katie says:

    That’s beautiful!

Leave a Reply

